Department of Weed Science

Prof. Dr. Khan Bahadar Marwat
Meritorious Professor
+ 92 91 9221032
+ 92 91 9216520
Mailing Address:
Department of Weed Science, The University of Agriculture, Peshawar, 25130, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Pakistan.
Download CV in PDF Format
PhD (Weed Science), University of Illinois at Urbana -Champaign (USA) 1988
PhD (Botany), University of Peshawar, 1984, Pakistan.
Post-Doc. 1988. HEC has equated 2nd PhD to Post Doc
HEC Approved Supervisor:
Area of Specialization:
Weed Ecology, Parasitic weeds, Invasive Weeds, Weed Management, Biodiversity, Ethno botany, and Applied Statistics
Professional Responsibilites & Activities:
Administration, Research, Outreach and Extension
Research Projects:
On-Going Projects:
  • Advisor (Local) for HEC sponsored Pak-Australian Linkage Project with Queensland University on “Study of Parthenium, its managing and Ecology.” (Rs. 12.5 millions).
  • Modeling for targeted weed management through exploitation of competition indices for wheat in KPK. (Rs. 6.18 million) PARC/ALP funded.
Research Projects completed:
  • Weed Management in Wheat: (July 2003-Dec 2006): Funded by Pakistan Science Foundation (PSF): (Rs. 1 Million).
  • Management of Parasitic weeds in rapeseed, onion and legume crops of NWFP: (March 2002-Dec 2005) Funded by Pakistan Agricultural Research Council (PARC) under Agricultural Linkages Program (ALP) – (Rs. 1.753 million)
  • National Project on Weed Control, NWFP-Phase. Funded by PARC – (Rs.1.4 million)
  • Weed management in onion/rice cropping system of lower Swat. (Rs.1.5 Million), PATA/Dutch funded
  • Weed management in onion and rice (Rs. 0.2 million): Funded by Department of Agriculture (Research).
  • Invasive Weeds of Abbottabad/Islamabad (Rs. 0.1 million) WWF-funded.
  1. Recipient of President of Pakistan’s Gold Medal for S&T, 2008
  2. Best University Teacher Award for 2005, conferred on January 26, 2008 by Chairman Higher Education Commission, Islamabad.
  3. Recipient of Outstanding Weed Science Award from Governor Punjab, 1993.
  4. Quaid-e-Azam Gold Medal, 2011.
Membership of International Bodies
  1. President, Asia Pacific Weed Science Society (2007-2010). See (
  2. Vice President, Asia Pacific Weed Science Society (2005-2007)
  3. Executive Member Near-East, Weed Science Society (2007-09)
  4. Life Member International Weed Science Society (www.iwss.ifo)
  5. Member, Weed Science Society of Japan (2003-2010)
  6. Member, Weed Science Society of Philippine (2003-05)
  7. Member, Asian-Pacific Weed Science Society (2003-2010)
  8. Member, Near East Weed Science Society (2004-2011)
  9. Member (Honorary), New York Academy of Sciences
  10. Member (Honorary), Research Board of Advisors, The American Bibliographic Institute
  11. Member, Weed Science Society of America (1984-91)
  12. Member, Core Group in Biological Science, HEC Islamabad
  13. Member, The University of Peace Foundation UNESCO CR
  14. Principal Signatory of Memorandum of Sino-Pakistan Collaboration with Chinese Academy of Sciences for Biodiversity
  15. Member, Scientific Committee of WWF – Pakistan
Fellowship/Membership of Local Bodies:
  1. Life Member and President, Weed Science Society of Pakistan (
  2. Life Member, International Weed Science Society (IWSS)
  3. Life Member, Pakistan Botanical Society (
  4. Member & President (Founding), Pakistan Ethnobotanical Society (PES)
  5. Member, Pakistan Council for Science and Technology.
  1. Representative of Higher Education Commission on the Syndicate of Kohat University of Science and Technology, Kohat from 1.8.2011 to 31.8.2011.
  2. Presently, Member Senate, University of Science & Technology, Bannu (2008-2009, 2010 to 2012).
  3. Member Academic Council, Kohat University of Science & Technology (KUST)
  4. Member Academic Council, NWFP Agricultural University, (1994 – Continued)
  5. Member Syndicate NWFP Agricultural University (June 2000 to June 2003)
  6. Member Finance & Planning Committee NWFP Agricultural University (2002-2003)
  7. Member Finance & Planning Committee, Kohat University of Science & Technology (KUST)
  8. Member Syndicate (Chancellors’ Committee), University of Malakand (April 2003- 2006).
  9. Member Selection Board, University of Malakand (Nov 2001- 2007).
  10. Member Selection Board, Kohat University of Science & Technology (KUST) (February 2005—continued)
  11. Member Syndicate, Kohat University of Science & Technology (KUST) (February 2007—continued)
  12. Convener Appellate Committee, Kohat University of Science & Technology (KUST) (2004—2007)
  13. Convener, UFM Committee, NWFP Agricultural University (2003-Contd)
  14. Member Board of Faculty, IT & Computer Science, City University-Peshawar.
  15. Member Board of Studies, Hazara University
  16. Member Board of Studies for Center of Biodiversity, Peshawar University
  17. Member, Selection Board, City University, Peshawar
  18. Member, Senate, Abasyn University, Peshawar
  19. Member, Board of Governors, Qurtuba University, Peshawar.
  20. Member/HEC representative, Syndicate, Hazara University (2010-----).
  21. Member, Senate, Hazara University, Mansehra (2010------).
  22. Member, Pakistan Council for Science and Technology
  23. Member, Senate, Shaheed Benazir Bhutto University, Sheringal, Dir Upper (26.2.2011 to 25.2.2013).
  24. Member, Board of Governors, City University of Science & IT, Peshawar (3.3.2011 to 2.3.3013).
Download Publications in PDF format

Related Links

About Department
Teaching Staff
Working Staff

Faculty Links

About Faculty
Working Staff

Copyright © The University of Agriculture, Peshawar-Pakistan